Skip to main content

Vermont Climate Council Membership

As of 9/10/21, the Vermont Climate Council has a new website. Please visit for updated information, meeting links, and documents for the Vermont Climate Council.


Vermont Climate Council Members

Council Member Biographies

* denotes Council member is also a member of the Steering Committee

Subcommittee Membership Composition

Director of Global Warming Solutions Act:

  • Jane Lazorchak, Vermont Agency of Natural Resources 

Cabinet Members:

  • ​*Susanne Young, Chair, Agency of Administration, Secretary
  • *Julie Moore, Agency of Natural Resources, Secretary
  • Anson Tebbetts, Agency of Agriculture Food and Markets, Secretary
  • Lindsay Kurrle, Agency of Commerce and Community Development, Secretary
  • Sean Brown, Agency of Human Services, Commissioner of Department of Children for Families, designee
  • Joe Flynn, Agency of Transportation, Secretary
  • Erica Bornemann, Department of Public Safety, Director of Vermont Emergency Management, designee
  • June Tierney, Department of Public Service, Commissioner

​Members Appointed by the Senate Committee on Committees

  • Abbie Corse, The Corse Farm Dairy, member to represent the farm and forest sector
  • Chad Farrell​, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Encore Renewable Energy, member to represent the clean energy sector
  • Iris Hsiang, Essex, member to represent Vermont youth
  • *Jared Duval, Executive Director or Energy Action Network, member to represent energy and data analysis
  • Kelly Klein​, Founder and CEO of Groennfell Meadery and Havoc Mead, member to represent the small business community
  • *Lauren Oates, The Nature Conservancy, member to represent the resilience and disaster response
  • Sue Minter, Executive Director of Capstone Community Action, member to represent the Vermont Community Action Partnership

Members Appointed by the House of Representatives

  • Adam Knudsen, Dynapower, member to represent Vermont manufacturers
  • Brian Gray, member to represent the fuel sector
  • Catherine Dimitruk, Northwest Regional Planning Commission, member to represent rural communities
  • *Chris Campany, Windham Regional Commission, member to represent the municipal governments
  • Johanna Miller, Vermont Natural Resources Council, member to represent a statewide environmental organization
  • Dr. Lesley-Ann Dupigny-Giroux, Vermont State Climatologist, UVM Professor of Climate and Climate Change​, member with expertise in climate change science
  • *Liz Miller, Green Mountain Power, member to represent distribution utilities
  • Richard Cowart, Regulatory Assistance Project, member with expertise and professional experience in the design and implementation of programs to reduce greenhouse gas emissions