Secretary & Central Office

The Office of the Secretary of Administration is located in the historic Pavilion Building in beautiful Montpelier, Vermont's State Capital City. 

The Agency of Administration (AoA) is comprised of the Office of the Secretary, Central Office Divisions and Departments that provide administrative and supportive services to all Vermont state government agencies and departments, as well as Vermont taxpayers and citizens. With primary responsibilities related to human resources, revenues, accounting and budget management, physical plant and IT infrastructure, and contracting and general services, the AoA promotes the effective and efficient coordination of state programs and services by responding to changing administrative, policy and fiscal environments, while ensuring transparency and accountability of and value for public tax dollars. 

The Office of the Secretary includes the following Central Office Divisions:

As principal administrative aide to the Governor, the Secretary of Administration issues general policy requirements through administrative memoranda and bulletins to implement executive orders and legislative mandates applicable to the executive branch of state government. The Secretary convenes and chairs the Governor’s Cabinet, coordinates the budget and appropriations testimony to the General Assembly and manages the Agency of Administration. The Secretary also directs the collective bargaining processes on behalf of all state agencies for the approximately 7,600 executive branch state employees and works to promote and enhance staff development training and the overall well-being of the state’s workforce.

Organization Charts

The Office of the Secretary of Administration

The Office of Risk Management

Financial Services Division