Interagency Committee on Administrative Rules (ICAR)

Establishing language and legislative charge:  3. V.S.A. § 820 

​General information:
  • Secretary of State Information
  • ICAR typically meets the 2nd Monday of every month at 2:00 p.m. in the Pavilion Building 5th Floor Conference Room.  
  • Meetings are posted on the Libraries website and named 'Agency of Administration'.
  • Before proposed rules can be submitted to ICAR, they must be sent to the appropriate agency/department's Governor's liason, as well as other agencies and departments affected by the proposed rule.
Proposed Rules can be sent one of two ways:
  1. Electronically (preferred method): One complete, combined PDF for each proposed rule needs to be emailed at least 10 business days prior to the meeting. OR
  2. Paper copies: Proposed Rules need to be sent at least 15 business days prior to the meeting. The packet must contain 1 Original and 10 Copies.
  • List of names and contact information including email address and Agency/Department of all who plan on attending the meeting. This information is necessary to be cleared through Security.  You will need to show photo identification upon arrival and will be issued a badge to enter the meeting.
  • Please email proposed rule(s) and contact information to the Office of the Secretary of Administration. If you prefer to send paper copies, please email prior to sending packet of information and mail or drop off packet.
After the ICAR meeting:
  • Once the minutes are finalized, they will be emailed to ICAR members, the Secretary of State's office, and those who provided their name and email address to the Secretary of Administration's office prior to the meeting. The minutes will also be posted here.
  • You may use the cover page of the minutes, along with your prospective proposed rule recommendation page(s) from the minutes in the filing for the Secretary of State's office. This will satisfy the documentation necessary to move the rule forward when filing with LCAR (i.e. the "ICAR Approval Letter" required).
Current list of ICAR members:
  • Brad Ferland, Deputy Secetrary of Administration, CHAIR
  • Steve Knudson, Department of Financial Regulation
  • Dirk Anderson, Department of Labor
  • Ashley Berliner, Agency of Human Services
  • Diane Bothfeld, Agency of Agriculture
  • Jen Duggan, Agency of Natural Resources
  • John Kessler, Agency of Commerce & Community Development
  • Karen Songhurst, Agency of Transportation
  • Clare O’Shaughnessy, Agency of Education

ICAR Meetings

Please note meeting dates and times are subject to change.


  • January 8, 2018               Agenda       Minutes
  • February 12, 2018          Agenda       Minutes
  • March 19, 2018                Agenda       Minutes
  • April 9, 2018                       Agenda       Minutes
  • May 14, 2018                     Agenda       Minutes
  • June 11, 2018                    Agenda       Minutes
  • July 9, 2018                         Agenda       Minutes
  • August 13, 2018               Agenda       Minutes
  • September 10, 2018       Agenda       Minutes
  • October 8, 2018                Agenda       Minutes
  • November 9, 2018           Agenda       Minutes
  • December 10, 2018         Agenda       Minutes